Books, wrap ups

April Wrap up

What a disappointing month in April? I swear April has flown by and I can’t believe it’s already May. April has been a bit crazy, as it has for so many other people, and I’m really just looking forward to all of this being over. But until that happens, let me share the books that I read in April. AND also the new movies that I watched, because I thought I’d try something new

Books

  • The Mother I Could Have Been (e-book) by Kerry Fisher
    I have entire review dedicated solely to this book, so I won’t go into too much detail, except that I thought it was okay.
  • Emma by Jane Austen
    Is there anything truly better than Jane Austen? Nothing lifts my mood better than disappearing into regency England led by Jane Austen. Emma was my classics book of the month, and if you don’t know I’ve challenged myself to read a new classic every month this year. Emma has been on my tbr for a long time for so many reasons but mainly because I love Clueless and I love Jane Austen. This was my fourth Jane Austen novel, I’ve previously read Pride and Prejudice (obviously), Persuasion and Northanger Abbey.
  • The Last Letter From Juliet (e-book) by Melanie Hudson
    My last book in April was this lovely WW2 story about a fictional female ATA pilot and a woman in the 21st century, who is struggling to come to terms with her husband’s death. This is technically cheating cause I actually finished it in the early hours of May 1st, but it was before I fell asleep so it still counts. I have a lot of thoughts on this one, that I will be sharing in the near the future, so stay tuned.

Movies

  • Emma (2020 version)
    I really wanted to watch this one ever since I first heard that there was a new version of Emma coming out. By that point I still hadn’t read the book, but I love Clueless, so. I actually watched this, before I finished Emma the book, but my mom let me rent it, and because it is still in the cinemas and only came out very recently, it is crazy expensive to rent, so I took the chance to watch it. And it was so funny. It perfectly captured the mood of the book and I love Bill Nighy as Mr. Woodhouse is the best thing ever. And my stepdad loved it, and he normally refuses to watch this kind of movie. He even asked if we could watch Clueless together afterwards, so he could compare the two, haha.
  • Good Will Hunting
    This has been on my to watch list for so long, and one Friday in April I just decided to go for it, and I am so happy I did. It was such a good movie, it was so beautiful and I love the way it dealt with the trauma of abuse and the marks it leaves.

Leave a comment